• Newbery Award Winners

    The Newbery is an annual award given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American children's literature published in the preceding year. They are always favorites.


    1922 van Loon The Story of Mankind
    1923 Lofting The Voyages of Dr. Doolittle
    1924 Hawes The Dark Frigate
    1925 Finger Tales from Silver Lands
    1926 Chrisman Shen of the Sea
    1927 James Smoky
    1928 Mukerji Gay-Neck
    1929 Kelly The Trumpeter of Krakow
    1930 Field Hitty, Her First Hundred Years
    1931 Coatsworth The Cat Who Went to Heaven
    1932 Armer Waterless Mountain
    1933 Lewis Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze
    1934 Meigs Invincible Louisa
    1935 ShannonDobry
    1936 Brink Caddie Woodlawn
    1937 Sawyer Roller Skates
    1938 Seredy The White Stag
    1939 Enright Thimble Summer
    1940 Daugherty Daniel Boone
    1941 Sperry Call It Courage
    1942 Edmonds The Matchlock Gun
    1943 Gray Adam of the Road
    1944 Forbes Johnny Tremain
    1945 Lawson Rabbit Hill
    1946 Lenski Strawberry Girl
    1947 Bailey Miss Hickory
    1948 du Bois The Twenty-One Balloons
    1949 Henry King of the Wind
    1950 de Angeli The Door in the Wall
    1951 Yates Amos Fortune, Free Man
    1952 Estes Ginger Pye
    1953 Clark Secret of the Andes
    1954 Krumgold ...And Now Miguel
    1955 DeJong The Wheel on the School
    1956 Latham Carry On, Mr. Bowditch
    1957 Sorenson Miracles on Maple Hill
    1958 Keith Rifles for Watie
    1959 Speare The Witch of Blackbird Pond
    1960 Krumgold Onion John
    1961 O'Dell Island of the Blue Dolphins
    1962 Speare The Bronze Bow
    1963 L'Engle A Wrinkle in Time
    1964 Neville It's Like This, Cat
    1965 Wojciechowska Shadow of a Bull
    1966 de Trevino I, Juan de Pareja
    1967 Hunt Up a Road Slowly
    1968 Konigsburg From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
    1969 Alexander The High King
    1970 Armstrong Sounder
    1971 Byars The Summer of the Swans
    1972 O'Brien Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh
    1973 George Julie of the Wolves
    1974 Fox The Slave Dancer
    1975 Hamilton M.C. Higgins, the Great
    1976 Cooper The Grey King
    1977 Taylor Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
    1978 Paterson Bridge to Terabithia
    1979 Raskin The Westing Game
    1980 Blos A Gathering of Days: A New
    1981 Paterson Jacob Have I Loved
    1982 Willard A Visit to William Blake's Inn
    1983 Voigt Dicey's Song
    1984 Cleary Dear Mr. Henshaw
    1985 McKinley The Hero and the Crown
    1986 MacLachlan Sarah, Plain and Tall
    1987 Fleishman The Whipping Boy
    1988 Freedman Lincoln: A Photobiography
    1989 FleishmanJoyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices
    1990 Lowry Number the Stars
    1991 Spinelli Maniac Magee
    1992 Naylor Shiloh
    1993 Rylant Missing May
    1994 Lowry The Giver
    1995 Creech Walk Two Moons
    1996 Cushman The Midwife's Apprentice
    1997 Konigsburg The View from Saturday
    1998 Hesse Out of the Dust
    1999 Sachar Holes
    2000 Curtis Bud, Not Buddy
    2001 Peck A Year Down Yonder
    2002 Park A Single Shard
    2003 Avi Crispin: The Cross of Lead
    2004 DiCamillo The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse,a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of   Thread
    2005 Kadohata Kira-Kira
    2006 Perkins Criss Cross
    2007 Patron The Higher Power of Lucky
    2008 Schlitz Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village
    2009 Gaiman  The Graveyard Book
    2010  Stead  When You Reach Me
    2011  Vanderpool  Moon Over Manifest